 Piazza San Marco photo copyrighted by: Sam's Exotic Travel Photos The Piazza S. Marco was the showcase of the republic. The basilica of St. Mark's, the Doge's Palace, and the public space itself received constant and lavish attention. The broad outline of this beloved ensemble had been confirmed by 1400. By then the canal called the Batario that ran west of the campanile had been filled in, and the church of S. Geminiano that straddled it had been taken down and rebuilt at the end of the extended square, across from St. Mark's. This three-sided enclosure, the Piazza S. Marco proper, held the offices of the procurators of the basilica and a thirteenth-century hospice along the south side. Loggias lined all three faces of the enclosure space which, with its long perspective toward St. Mark's, came close to a Roman forum focused toward its temple on the long axis.
Find more include("ccpp-images.php"); ?> images in the include("ccp.php"); ?> gallery of Photorena.
All pics are under copyright of the photographer
|